Join Stein Club: 2015 MLK Parade

MLK Parade.png

In the spirit of service and in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., we will be joining our neighbors for the 9th Annual MLK Parade in Ward 8 on January 19th.

This year, the theme is "Looking Back, Moving Forward ... Together!" --- a recognition of the Civil Rights leaders of the past and an affirmation to the momentum and breadth of Civil Rights organizing today. We are putting together an LGBTQ contingent to walk with the many community members who will turn up to walk to celebrate growth, honor Dr. King, and walk for a more peaceful future. We will be meeting in front of the Congress Heights Metro Station on January 19th at 11:30am. From there, we will walk over to the parade line up location at St. Elizabeth's main gate, 2700 Martin Luther King, Ave. SE. The parade will end at Leckie elementary school: 4201 Martin Luther King, Jr. Ave. SW.

Will you walk with us? If so, please RSVP here. We'll need an accurate headcount so that we can provide posters and banners and other signage. Please invite your friends and ask them to RSVP, too!

If you have any questions, concerns, or accessibility needs, please contact Dominique for additional assistance.

Gertrude Stein Democratic Club 2015 Goals & Priorities

For those of you who were unable to make our January Membership Meeting, please find a PDF of the club's 2015 Goals & Priorities.

We always encourage membership input in all the work that we do. If you have information or an idea you would like to share with the executive committee please email it to

GSDC 2015 Goals and Priorities.pdf

Gertrude Stein Democratic Club 2015 Committees

These committees are being re-established/created with the intention of engaging membership to increase recruitment, sustainability, and community participation. If you have an interest in joining one or more of these groups, please reach out to the Executive Officer associated with that committee. We look forward to working with all members to buildup Stein Club visibility, diversity and strength.

Finance Committee

Committee Leader: Jessica Pierce,
This committee will focus on organizing and managing incoming and outgoing funds of the club throughout the year.

  • Creating 2015 budget

  • Leading organization's fundraising efforts

Membership Committee

Committee Leader: Dwayne Bensing,
The committee will launch recruiting opportunities and events to increase membership and interests.

  • Planning of the 2015 Leadership Awards

Endorsements and Elections Committee

Committee Leader: Martín Garcia,
This committee will organize and manage all organizational efforts regarding the upcoming April Special Election

  • Candidate surveys

  • Candidate forums

  • Endorsed candidate support/GOTV efforts

Issues Committee

Committee Leader: Amada Fitzsimmons,
The issues committee will create proposals and recommendations for Stein Club involvement in progressive activism throughout the District.

By-Laws Committee

Committee Leader: Amada Fitzsimmons,
This committee will review the Stein Club By-Laws to better clarify and explain membership requirements, procedure, and commitments.


January Membership Meeting - Tonight @ 7PM

Tonight the incoming leadership of the Gertrude Stein Democratic Club will be presenting an organizational agenda and strategic priorities for the upcoming year. Hope to see you there and look forward to hearing your input!

When: Tonight, Jan. 12, 2015 @ 7PM
Where: Room 120 in the John A. Wilson Building, 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC

Please remember it is also time to renew you club membership for 2015!

Vote and Volunteer for November 4th election!


Don't forget to vote tomorrow! Here are Stein's list of endorsed candidates!

Delegate to the US House of Representatives - Eleanor Holmes Norton
Mayor of the District of Columbia - Muriel Bowser
Chairman of the Council of the District of Columbia - Phil Mendelson
At-Large Member of the Council of the District of Columbia - Anita Bonds and Courtney Snowden

Members of the Council of the District of Columbia
Ward 1 - Brianne Nadeau
Ward 3 - Mary Cheh
Ward 5 - Kenyon McDuffie
Ward 6 - Charles Allen

Attorney General for the District of Columbia - Edward "Smitty" Smith
United States ("Shadow") Representative - Franklin Garcia
United States ("Shadow") Senator - Paul Strauss

Volunteers needed: Many of our endorsed candidates are in need of poll workers for tomorrow. If you are going to be out or are willing to go out for one of our endorsed candidate please let us know so we can connect you with the right people.

November Meeting: Our monthly meeting will be held on Nov. 17th where we will be having our elections for Stein Club Leadership. For more information on running for one of the Executive Board offices please send an email to